FollowUp: Rosetta Mission's Historic Comet Landing: Full Coverage/video

by bluesbaby5050 on November 13th, 2014

FollowUp: Rosetta Mission's Historic Comet Landing: Full Coverage/video. [click on image to enlarge view] Today, the European Space Agency's Rosetta spacecraft and Philae lander made history. The lander successfully made it to the surface of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Scientists confirmed the landing at a little bit after 11 a.m. EST (1600 GMT). FULL STORY: European Spacecraft Lands on Comet in Historic Space Feat. Philae's harpoon anchors did not fire as planned during the touchdown, so the lander was not able to secure itself to Comet 67P. Philae may have bounced a bit after the initial landing, then settled back down onto the surface, mission officials say. The Rosetta team will know more about Philae's condition and fate Thursday morning (Nov. 13). FULL STORY: Double Comet Landing? Philae Probe May Have Bounced During Touchdown. The European Space Agency's Rosetta spacecraft has launched its Philae lander at the Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, beginning what scientists are calling "seven hours of terror" for today's historic comet landing. The lander should reach the comet's surface by 10:35 a.m. ET (1535 GMT), with landing confirmation reaching Eart at 11:02 a.m. ET (1602 GMT. The European spacecraft that performed the first-ever soft landing on a comet might have done so not just once, but twice.

The Philae lander, part of the European Space Agency's (ESA) Rosetta mission, made history Wednesday morning (Nov. 12) when it touched down on Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. But the probe's anchoring harpoons didn't fire as planned, and Philae may have bounced off the surface before settling back onto the icy body once again, mission officials said. - http://www.space.com/27697-rosetta-comet-landing-full-coverage.html MORE PHOTOS HERE - http://www.space.com/24266-rosetta-comet-mission-photos-esa.html More -

 Filed under: Space

Comments

You must be logged in to comment

Site Statistics

Posts
18,090
Comments
31,737
Members
22,635